Archive for June, 2011

They did it again!

Tuesday, June 14th, 2011

The oldest and main reservoir(?) of the island is 30% filled. Land cracks and roots are scenes which the reservoir is offering nowadays instead of the vivid blue ones. As usual the Authority is appealing to the public not to waste water. Subscribers of the central plateau, the South are being provisioned only for 6 hours a day. Should the situation prevail, other regions will be affected as well. The worst case scenario is the supply of water every 2 days. Hey they did it again!!!

Public holidays 2012!

Sunday, June 5th, 2011

A totally random post. Below list of public holidays for 2012.

New Year Sunday 1 January
New Year Monday 2 January
Chinese Spring Festival Monday 23 January
Abolition of Slavery Wednesday 1 February
Thaipoosam Cavadee Tuesday 7 February
Maha Shivaratree Monday 20 February
National Day Monday 12 March
Ougadi Friday 23 March
Labour Day Tuesday 1 May
Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary Wednesday 15 August
Eid-Ul-Fitr* Sunday 19 August
Ganesh Chaturthi Thursday 20 September
Arrival of Indentured Labourers Friday 2 November
Divali Tuesday 12 November
Christmas Tuesday 25 December

* depends on the visibility of the moon

So many spaces between the holidays 🙁 But most of them fall during the week 🙂

Have a good remaining evening!